About Us

What we do:

CHSA promotes the contributions and legacy of the Chinese in America through its exhibitions, publications, and educational and public programs in the Museum and Learning Center. We are housed in the landmark Julia Morgan-designed Chinatown YWCA building at 965 Clay Street, San Francisco.

We offer tours of the Museum and the surrounding Chinatown community for a nominal charge. We have extended our reach with online content and online exhibits through our main portal chsa.org, sharing information and news through our Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr, and sharing photographs through our Instagram. We have also opened our doors to collaborations with others who want to share their stories and experiences through film screenings, book readings, presentations, workshops, panel discussions and so much more.

Mission

The Chinese Historical Society of America collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.

Who we are

When founded in 1963, there were fewer than 250,000 people of Chinese descent living in the US and CHSA was a lone voice for the study and dissemination of the history of this segment of the US population. Today, as the number of Chinese in the US has risen to nearly 5 million, CHSA strives to be a responsible steward of the remarkable narrative of this rapidly growing and increasingly visible community.

Staff and Board

Staff are only available via email at this time.

Board of Directors

Doug Chan, President
Jeff Tsai, Secretary
Andy Bryant, Treasurer
Matthew Huey
Elsie Lam
Alvin Lau
Walter Lim
Gorretti Lui
Lydia So
Johnny Wang, Programs Committee
Kenneth Wun
Jonathan H.X. Lee, H&P Editor-in-Chief
Connie Young Yu, Board Emeritus
Gene Ching, Programs Committee

Staff

Justin Hoover, Executive Director
justin.hoover@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x104

Angela Mazza, Development Director
angela.mazza@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188

Palma You, Gallery Coordinator
palma@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x108

Kimberly Szeto, Programs Coordinator
kimberly@chsa.org

Rachel Forbes, Education Coordinator
rachel.forbes@chsa.org

Alisha Xiong, Operations and Visitors Services Associate
alisha.xiong@chsa.org

Maggie Harrison, Operations and Visitors Services Associate
maggie.harrison@chsa.org

Vienna Yuan, Operations and Visitors Services Associate

Qilu Zhou, Digital Design Intern
qilu@chsa.com, (650)-501-7125

Nathaniel Jue, Media & Communications Manager
njue@chsa.org, (408)-712-0025

Please direct all media inquiries to Nathaniel Jue, Media and Communications Manager.

Please contact us with any questions online or at at (415) 391-1188 x101. Thank you for your support!

Location & Hours

965 Clay Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
}

Hours

Mon – Tue: Closed
Wed – Sun: 11 A.M. – 4 P.M.