About Us

Participate in contemporary art, history, and popular culture. Visit our museum housed in the historically landmarked Julia Morgan-designed Chinatown YWCA building at 965 Clay Street, San Francisco. Shop at our gift shop to pick up one-of-a-kind items by local artists and enrich yourself with our scholarly publications.

What we do

CHSA provides opportunities to learn about the ways that our community of Chinese Americans and Asian Americans have fought for equity, diversity, and inclusion in American society. In our museum we have permanent exhibits about the people, places and movements in Chinese American culture that have set the stage for our current era. Our rotating exhibits take deep dives into a wide range of Asian American content. Our traveling exhibits providing learning opportunities as pop-ups in public spaces such as at farmers markets, libraries, and other cultural centers. And CHSA collaborates with numerous groups locally and nationally to provide opportunities to engage with the content and history of/by/for our communities.

Mission

The Chinese Historical Society of America collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship, and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.

Who we are

When founded in 1963, there were fewer than 250,000 people of Chinese descent living in the US and CHSA was a lone voice for the study and dissemination of the history of this segment of the US population. Today, as the number of Chinese in the US has risen to nearly 5 million, CHSA strives to be a responsible steward of the remarkable narrative of this rapidly growing and increasingly visible community.

Staff and Board

Staff are only available via email at this time.

Board of Directors

Doug Chan, President
Jeff Tsai, Secretary
Andy Bryant, Treasurer
Matthew Huey
Elsie Lam
Alvin Lau
Walter Lim
Gorretti Lui
Lydia So
Johnny Wang, Programs Committee
Kenneth Wun
Jonathan H.X. Lee, H&P Editor-in-Chief
Connie Young Yu, Board Emeritus
Gene Ching, Programs Committee

Staff

Sharon Chung, Gift Shop Associate, sharon.chung@chsa.org

Rachel Forbes, Education Coordinator, rachel.forbes@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x103

Maggie Harrison, Visitor Services Coordinator, maggie.harrison@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x109

Justin Hoover, Executive Director, justin.hoover@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x104

Nathaniel Jue, Marketing Coordinator, njue@chsa.org, (408) 712-0025

Francis Lopez, Accountant, francis@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x105

Angela Mazza, Development Director, angela.mazza@chsa.org, (408) 480-4355

Amanda Putnam, Program and Communications Coordinator, amanda.putnam@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x102

Palma You, Archives Coordinator, palma@chsa.org, (415) 391-1188 x108

Vienna Yuan, Gift Shop Greeter

Qilu Zhou, Visitor Services Coordinator, qilu@chsa.com, (415) 391-1188 x109

Please contact us with any questions online or at (415) 391-1188 x101. Thank you for your support!

Location

965 Clay Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
}

Hours

Mon – Tue: Closed
Wed – Sun: 11 A.M. – 4 P.M.