Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Congratulations to Historian Phil Choy: 2011 Oscar Lewis Award Recipient!

March 28, 2011 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Please join us in congratulating the recipients of the 17th Annual Oscar Lewis Awards:
Phillip P. Choy
Oscar Lewis Award for Western History
Clifford Burke
Oscar Lewis Award for Book Arts

There will be a reception honoring the awardees on Monday, March 28, from 5-7 pm at the Book Club of California at
312 Sutter Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA 94108-4377
800-869-7656   415-781-7532
This event is free & open to the public.
On Tuesday, March 29, from 5-7 pm, please return for a roundtable discussion, conducted by Clifford Burke, drawing on Burke’s printing as well as the works that inspired it. All are welcome to attend.
Phillip P. Choy, born and raised in San Francisco’s Chinatown, is a third generation Californian. An architect, he is also widely recognized as an historian and authority on Chinese-American history. He co-edited A History of the Chinese in California: A Syllabus and The Coming Man: 19th Century Perceptions of the Chinese. He is also the author of the case report that placed the Angel Island Immigration Station on the National Register of Historic Places. His latest book is Canton Footprints: Sacramento’s Chinese Legacy.
Clifford Burke founded Cranium Press in 1960s San Francisco. At Cranium, he printed and published many broadsides and books, principally poetry. Apprenticing with Adrian Wilson in 1968 and himself mentoring the new letterpress printers of the region, Clifford published Printing It in 1971 (Ballantine), “a guide to graphic techniques for the impecunious.” In 1980, he published Printing Poetry (Scarab Press) on his practice of letterpress. In 1990 he joined Virginia Mudd and her Desert Rose Press. They live on a farm near Santa Fe, New Mexico, where Clifford plays and composes for the baritone saxophone.
The Oscar Lewis Awards were established by The Book Club of California in 1994 in honor of Oscar Lewis (1893-1992), San Francisco author, historian, and club secretary from 1921-1946. Two awards are presented annually to outstanding individuals for their achievements in western history and the book arts.
Please check back in Fall 2011 for information on submitting nominations for the 2012 Oscar Lewis Awards. All club members are invited to submit nominations during the appropriate submissions period.
Past recipients of the Oscar Lewis Award for Western History are:
  • Dr. Albert Shumate (1994)
  • Michael Harrison (1995)
  • Doyce B. Nunis, Jr., (1996)
  • Lawrence Clark Powell (1996)
  • Richard H. Dillon (1997)
  • Gary F. Kurutz (1998)
  • Allan R. Ottley (1999)
  • J. S. Holliday (2000), Msgr. Francis J. Weber (2000)
  • Muir Dawson (2001) and Glen Dawson (2001)
  • Ferol Egan (2002)
  • Kevin Starr (2003)
  • Robert G. Harlan (2004)
  • David F. Myrick (2005)
  • Robert V. Hine (2006)
  • Carl Nolte (2007)
  • Malcolm Margolin (2008)
  • Robert J. Chandler (2009)
  • Thomas Pinney (2010)

Past recipients of the Oscar Lewis Award for the Book Arts are:

  • Ward Ritchie (1994)
  • Stella Patri (1995)
  • Albert Sperisen (1995)
  • Lewis and Dorothy Allen (1996)
  • Marjorie G. Stern (1997)
  • Sandra Kirshenbaum (1998)
  • S. Gale Herrick (1998)
  • Jack W. Stauffacher (1999)
  • Andrew Hoyem (2000)
  • Wolfgang Lederer (2001)
  • Carolyn and James Robertson (2002)
  • Joanne Margarethe Sonnichsen (2003)
  • Eleanor Edwards Ramsey (2004)
  • Joseph J. D’Ambrosio (2005)
  • Peter Rutledge Koch (2006)
  • Patrick W. Reagh (2007)
  • David Lance Goines (2008)
  • Graham Mackintosh (2009)
  • Charles Hobson (2010)


March 28, 2011
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Book Club of California
312 Sutter Street, Suite 500
San Francisco, CA 94108 United States